• Sun. Jun 13th, 2021

Top in Africa

Africa's Trending Topics


ByJuma Chai

Dec 4, 2018

The name Kilimanjaro comes from the word Kilima, this is Swahili for Hill. Kilimanjaro therefore translates to the Njaro hill. It is the tallest mountain in Africa. Its highest peak is at 5895 meters above the sea level. It has three peaks. Kibo, Mawenzi and Shira.

Mt Kilimanjaro was formed about 3 million years ago due to volcanic activities. These activities occurred during the formation of the rift valley. In its early years the mountain might have been taller than it is at this moment since some of its peaks have been eroded by natural element.

For the enthusiasts of mountain climbing it is possible to hike mount Kilimanjaro. There are seven official trekking routes by which to ascend and descend mount Kilimanjaro: Lemosho, Machame, Marangu, Mweka, Rongai, Shira, and Umbwe. The most famous of them is Machame which is famed for its incredible scenery even though it passes through a steep stretch.  But later on Lemosho route was opened and its fame is set to sappas that of Machame. It takes an average of seven days to ascend the mountain. the ascent and descent routes are the same, and accommodation is in shared huts with all other climbers.

People who wish to trek to the summit of Kilimanjaro are advised to undertake appropriate research. Here are some of the things to consider.


Juma Chai

A writer dedicated to providing the world with the best insights into Africa.

2 thoughts on “MOUNT KILIMANJARO”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *