• Sun. Jun 13th, 2021

Top in Africa

Africa's Trending Topics

What is AWARD fellowship.

ByJuma Chai

Nov 29, 2018

The AWARD Fellowship was founded in 2008 as a program to develop careers. It brings together seasoned women in the Agricultural science across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their science and leadership skills.
Its main objective is to act as a catalyst of the innovative spirits of African women most of whom work in the informal smallholder Agricultural sector.
It achieves this through a two year fellowship program that is focused on guiding its fellows on ways one could foster strong scientific skills. This is achieved by creating a good mentoring program and patnerships.
The felowship is awarded under the criteria of intellectual merits. Leadership qualities and also the impact of the scientists on the community.

African women scientists from 16 countries (Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, and Senegal) have benefited directly as AWARD Fellows. In 2017, the scope of the African countries increased to 28 with a particular focus on francophone countries including: Benin, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Togo.

Juma Chai

A writer dedicated to providing the world with the best insights into Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *